Vedic Astrology 41

Vedic Astrology Lesson 41 –  Mathematical Astrology IV


Vedic Astrology was evolved by the Seers as an aid to
Self Actualisation. Evolutionary Astrology can divine the Soul State of the
native, based on the Evolution of Consciousness, which is the basic Theory of
Evolutionary Philosophy. So based on the Soul State, the astro scholar can
advise the client what techniques are to be adopted for both material &
spiritual progress.

Ahargana – the no of days elapsed from Creation

number of terrestrial days passed from any Epoch is called Ahargana and
the days reckoned from the Day of Creation is called Srishtyadi Ahargana. This
method of calculation is given in the master astronomical treatise, the Surya
Siddhanta, First Chapter. In order to determine the Abdesa ( lord of Year),
Masesa ( Lord of Month ) & Varesa ( lord of the day of week ), this
Ahargana has to be calculated.

The Abdesa


The lord who presides over the year is called Abdesa.


He is the planet that rules over the weekday on which
the year begins.

When the duration of the year which is 360 years is divided by 7, we get
a remainder of 3 & a quotient of 51 and the quotients shows the number of


To find out the Abdesa


1) Find out  no of days passed / 360. Multiply
by 3. Add 1 and divide by 7. Remainder to be counted from Sunday. This gives
the weekday and its lord is the Abdesa.



The Masesa

The Masesa is the planet that rules the weekday of the commencement of
the month of birth.


The duration of the astro month is divided by 7, the
remainder got is 2 and quotient 4.


To find out the Masesa


1) Find out the no of days passed from the beginning
of creation

2) Divide it by 30

3) Multiply quotient 2. Add 1. Divide Total by 6. Reject
quotient. Remainer counted from Sunday. Its lord is Masea



This is the planet who is the lord of the day of the week.


To find out the Varesa


1) Find out the no of days passed from the beginning
of creation

2) Divide it by 7

3) Remainder to be counted from Sunday. Its lord is
the Varesa

Date of Epoch 


The date of the Epoch selected is 02 05
1827, Wednesday.


The Ahargana on the date of that Epoch is 714, 404,
096, 641 days.


This when divided by 7 leaves a reminder of 4
suggesting that the Epoch falls on Wednesday. Therefore our Epoch begins on WED

To find out the Ahargana, in Visual Fox Pro write this formula


Ahargana = ctod( “mdate “) –
ctod( “02/05/1827 “)

Abda Bala – Year Strength


The lord of the Year Birth is given  a value of
15 Shashtiamsas as his Abda Bala or Year Strength.

Masa Bala – Month Strength


30 Shashtiamsas are given to the lord of the Month.


Vara Bala – Weekday Strength


45 Shashtiamsas are given to the lord of the Day of


Hora Bala – Hour Strength


Since a day is 24 Hours, a day is divided by 24 and
each Hora or Hour is ruled by a planet. The Planetary Hour Lord is given a
value of 60 Shashtiamsas as his Hora Bala.



Hours or Horas


One Hour is 15 degrees and there are 24 Hours or Horas
in a day.


( Ardha Rasi Bhaveth Hora Chathurvimshathi Smrithah )



The Sequential Order of Weekdays


The Order of Weekdays are presided by Sun ( Sunday),
Moon ( Monday ), Mars ( Tuesday ), Mercury ( Wednesday ), Jupiter ( Thursday ),
Venus ( Friday ) & Saturn ( Saturday ). This sequential order, Sun, Moon,
Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus & Saturn, is the order of Weekdays. Actually
this is obtained from Planetary Hours or Kala Hora !



Planetary Hours


Planetary Hours are a Day divided by Twelve

The lord of the weekday is the Planetary Hour lord

From Sunset onwards, the fifth from that lord

The Sixth lord in week order is the next planetary
hour lord !



Dina Dwadasamso Matha Kalahora

Pathi Tasya
Poorvasya Varadhi natha

Thatha Shashta Shashta Kramena Tharesham

Nishayam Thu Vareshwarath Panchamadya



A Day divided by 12 gives Planetary Hours ( Kala Hora


The First Hour is presided by the lord of that Day (
viz On Friday, Freya, Venus )

From Eve, the fifth from that lord of the day.


On a Sunday, the First Hour is presided by the Sun. Next
planetary hour is presided by the fifth lord from Sunday ( Friday, Venus ) and
so on.




Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Saturn, Jupiter, Mars in
sequential order , are the Kala Hora lords.


Hence we get the formula for Kala Hora


( Arka Shukra
Budhaschandra Manda Jeeva Dharasutha Kramena Kalahoresa )


So on a day the First Hour is ruled by the lord of the
day. In other words, in a day there are 24 hours and 21 hours will pass ruled
by these lords The 22nd hour, the 23rd and the 24th will be ruled by the First,
Second and Third rulers and on the next day the First Hour will be ruled by the
4th lord. Hence from Kala Hora sequential order only do we get the sequential
order – Sunday, Monday, Tuesday etc. 


The lord of the Planetary Hour, Kala Hora, gets 60

Solstice Strength


Each planet will be located either North or South of the Celestial
Equator. As a result he gets Solstice Strength or Ayana Bala.




A planet moves southwards or northwards from the Celestial Equator. The
angular distance from the Celestial Equator is called Declination. If a planet
is located on the Northern Celestial Hemisphere, it is plus and minus if vice


During the Vernal Equinox ( The First Point of Aries
), the declination of the Sun is Zero and his gross RA ( Right Ascension ) is
also Zero. During the Summer Solstice ( The First Point of Cancer ), his
declination is 23 degrees 27 minutes & gross R A 90. During the Autumnal
Equinox ( The First Point of Libra ), his declination is Zero  & his
gross RA 180 degrees. During the Winter Solstice ( The First Point of Capricorn
), his declination is -23 degrees & 27 minutes and his gross RA is 270 !


In other words, the Sun’#8217;s declination will
progressively increase from Aries to Cancer, decrease from Cancer to Libra,
increase from Libra to Capricorn & then decrease from Capricorn to Aries !